Practice Profile

Andrea Vattovani Architecture (AVA) is an award winning studio specialized in architecture, urbanism, design as well as research. Our team has already developed over 100 projects and competitions in several countries. Our Graz based studio has worked on a variety of projects, each one having been developed with particular attention to its individual case, while holding on to AVA’s mission. Specifically, we believe that as planners and designers of urban projects and buildings, we have the responsibility to improve the city’s quality through creating real solutions. More generally, some of the key strategies of our team are creative reduction of form, meticulous attention to detail, and always achieving a noble architectural design with a strong focus on functionality and accurate response to site surrounding.



Being an architect is a delicate and multifaceted task. One must not only be an excellent technician but also have artistic, creative qualities, tied in with patience and amazing listening skills, not short of a psychologist. Further, amazing organizational skills and an acute awareness of the influence one exudes on peoples’ lives are also of utter importance.

That is why, at AVA we avoid formalistic and overly fashionable architecture, instead of striving for clear communication of ideas through our projects. We aspire to create timeless architecture by reducing form, efficient and functional use of materials, at the same time remaining conscientious of costs.

Andrea Vattovani – Founder

Born in Trieste, Italy, Andrea Vattovani realized at an early age that his future lay in design. He began his studies in his hometown of Trieste, where he also came in contact with Luigi Snozzi, an architect from Ticino, Switzerland, who influenced Vattovani to continue his studies abroad. After traveling across Europe, Andrea Vattovani decided to continue his studies at the Technical University of Graz. His studies in Austria allowed him to develop a meticulous attention to detail and strategic skills that are not only linked with the image of a project but also manage to solve its problems. After graduation, Andrea Vattovani founded Andrea Vattovani Architecture (AVA), which has gone on to participate in competitions and projects in various countries such as Italy, Austria, Lebanon, UAE, Germany, Bulgaria, the United States, China, Thailand, and Finland.

In addition, Vattovani has been teaching at the Institute of Urbanism of the Faculty of Architecture in Graz, alongside other Universities. He has been a frequent public speaker in several events like TEDx, Perspective, and several universities across Europe.


2018 ARABIA PROPERTY AWARDS Residential High Rise Architecture Retro67
2018 ARABIA PROPERTY AWARDS Residential High Rise Development Retro67
BUILD Architecture Awards 2018 – Best Urbanism & Design Studio of the Year 2018 – Austria
& Best Contemporary Residential & Commercial Design Project: Retro67, Beirut, Lebanon
The Plan Award 2018- Finalist with two projects
BUILD Architecture Awards 2017 – Best Urbanism & Design Practice
The Plan Award 2017- Shortlist
Architecture Awards 2016 – Most Distinguished Architecture Design Studio BUILD
Architecture Awards 2016 Coporate Livewire
The Plan Award 2016 -Shortlist
Architecture Awards 2015 – Leader in timeless Architecture BUILD
The Plan Award 2015 -Finalist
21×21 Shortlist


Staff AVA 2008 – 2021: Lamberto Deluca, Matthias Moosbrugger, Christoph Schuh, Peter Kanzler, Markus Meirhofer, Thomas Kalcher, Stephan Maier, Thomas Hörmann, Mario Keusch, Ines Dobosic, Gabriel Tschinkel, Martina Legat, Tobias Gruber, Michael Sattler, Martin Gross, Vinko Gavric, Thomas Aufreiter, Johannes Bauer, Lukas Einzingerl, Michael Deutsch, Stefan Kropsch, Igor Kolonic, Julia Gaal, Johanna Huber, Stefan Perperschlager, Eva Fuertes, Barbara Verbost, Teodor Javanaud Emdén, Anna Maria Gruber, Thomas Huber, Fang-Yi Chen, Raphael Andreolli, Samuel Föger, Martin Weinhandel, Anna Stephanie Sucher, Louise Savalle, Adna Babahmetovic, Ajna Babahmetovic, Sebastian Reiter, Petrit Vejseli, Begoña Torreira Álvarez, Laura Christmas, Laura Chromecek, Ana Ilic, Tamara Lukic, Nawal Echouhani, Agnieszka Jeleniewska, Laura Kracher, Alexandra Gruber, Eva Kollmann.